New York Last State to Adopt the No-Fault Divorce

August 16, 2010
Categories: Misc | Author: Harris Law Firm
New York Last State to Adopt the No-Fault Divorce


Governor David Paterson signed no-fault divorce into law Sunday.  Previously New York judges could only grant a divorce quickly on ground cruelty, adultery, abandonment or imprisonment, meaning a spouse had to prove their mate's wrongdoing.  These options were expensive and time-consuming. Another, more time consuming alternative, was to legally separate for a year and then get a divorce later by consent.  Divorce will now move more quickly for those in this state. This new measure requires one spouse to swear under oath that a relationship has broken down for at least six months. Property division, alimony, child custody and support would have to be resolved first.

New York is the last state to enact some version of no-fault divorce.

0 Comments, 1748 Views

Leave a Reply

Fields marked with  * are required.

  1. (will not be published)
© Copyright 2015 Harris Law Firm. All Rights Reserved. Privacy